Summer of Love

I am full of the joys and hopes of late summer. Who would have thought it? It is only 8 months since the bombshell. My self-esteem is back as I am desired again and desire to be with someone else. The best thing is that it has taken me totally by surprise.

I started online dating back in June as a distraction, as a self-esteem boost and as a way of getting over my ex. By golly it’s worked. I am back to work properly after my maternity leave at the start of September, so I knew it was just a temporary affair as once I’m back at work I will not have the time. Baby girl and work is the priority. I had some shocking dates but it was fun to gossip about and good to have a bit of social life when everyone else I know is in a couple. There was the Hobbit, the Silver Fox and then ‘Fit but bald’.

Now ‘Fit but bald’ lasted a few weeks – I thought he was a nice guy but something didn’t quite sit right with him. I fancied him and felt at ease in his company but I always came away thinking there was something missing. There was no great meeting of the minds and call me shallow but his prospects were not great. I could not see it lasting long term. But I stuck with it simply because I wasn’t after long term. However, Fit but Bald was obviously pretty keen on me and started texting relentlessly, talking a lot of bollocks and talking very seriously about ‘us’. I think I got so carried away with fancying someone again after nearly 11 years that I stuck it out a few too many dates knowing he wasn’t right. I needed to get the hell out of dodge! So, slowly over a space of a week my text messages got a little standoffish until he finally got the point. I broke the news I didn’t want to see him again via text. Sounds harsh but I did offer him the chance to meet for an explanation. He realised his mistakes and bowed out graciously. Phew! I don’t think I’ve ever had to dump someone. Easy. But then it was only a few dates!

However, since him, a rather lovely man contacted me on the dating website. We emailed a bit back and forth about the obvious like what the hell happened with my shit-bag ex and it didn’t put him off! If I could compile a list of what would make my perfect man for me at this stage in my life he would tick every box on that list: professional, ambitious, intelligent, solvent, sporty, kind and generous. He’s also gorgeous: inside and out. I have been on 2 dates with him and there was mutual instant attraction and spark. He is taking me out for dinner for date number 3 and I’m so flipping excited I could explode! I need to play it cool and take it slowly with this one because I’m a smitten kitten and cannot believe my luck.

My daughter is also growing more wonderful everyday. She is pure joy and love and now sleeps through the night and because of her I feel happy. Perhaps it is her joy and happiness that is making me myself again and to have the confidence to attract such a great guy.

Now, what to wear for my dinner date?……

3 thoughts on “Summer of Love

  1. Lovely to read that you have found some one that makes you excited! It’s so much fun when that happens and you feel giddy!! I hope your third date goes brilliantly and make sure you spill the gossip! Xx

  2. Oh, this is so brilliant! I am so excited for you and crossing my fingers big time for you on this one. It sounds like things are good – just take it slow and let it grow. Thanks for linking to PoCoLo, so happy for you xx

Leave a Reply

